Cheltenham Music Festival: Festival Concludes on a High Note with Two Iconic Works


Blackford, Holst: BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Savitri Singers / Martyn Brabbins (conductor), Town Hall, Cheltenham, 12.7.2014. (RJ)

Richard Blackford: The Great Animal Orchestra
Gustav Holst: Suite – The Planets


I was disappointed that the first orchestral concert at this year’s Festival featured no living composer; indeed the lion’s share of the works performed harked back to the 19th century. Hardly an auspicious start to a Festival that prides itself on being at the “cutting edge” of music and started off in 1945 with a work hot off the press by Benjamin Britten! However the final concert more than compensated for the disappointments of the first with two works which in certain respects are/were ahead of their time.

Richard Blackford’s new work, The Great Animal Orchestra, draws its inspiration from the natural world – especially from research conducted by Bernie Krause who has made a prodigious number of recordings of birds, mammals and the insect world over the part 45 years. Through the use of a spectrometer Krause found that the intricate layers of sound created by the animal world resemble the layers and textures of an orchestral score – representing a symphony in sound, in other words.  Each creature inhabits its own set time and frequency niches just as musical instruments operate within a given range within an orchestra. Some of our fellow-creatures it seems are very sophisticated musicians indeed: the Musician Wren of Central America, for instance, has a 44 note melody in its repertoire.

So much for the theory of biophony which can be perused at leisure in Krause’s book, also entitled The Great Animal Orchestra. How does one convert the sounds of nature into a coherent symphonic form. Blackford’s approach is rather subtle: each of the five movements begins with a tape of the natural soundscape from which the orchestra takes its cue. In the first movement the orchestra tunes in to the natural world as it were, incorporating the sounds of serenading gibbons and the hump backed whale. A chorus of Pacific tree frogs leads into the second, an entertaining scherzo full of infectious percussion and jazz rhythms with an extended riff at the end.

The third movement, entitled Elegy, opens with a chilling microtonal chorus of howling wolves supported by four French horns and also features a beaver’s heart-breaking lament on the death of his wife and family played on a bassoon. Africa is featured in the fourth movement with a herd of elephants marching through clouds of dust and the scream of a gorilla as it charges.  The Musician Wren, mentioned above, receives its just deserts from Richard Blackford in the concluding movement: he uses its melody as the theme for a set of variations, with contributions from the Common Pottoo (which uses the pentatonic scale) and interventions from the Screaming Piha.

The concept may sound a bit wacky, but The Great Animal Orchestra actually works quite well in purely musical terms. Blackford holds the first movement together with a five chord ritornello on the brass, and other motifs, mainly on the strings, help to unify the work further. There is also an underlying message, as in his choral work Not in Our Time which was a plea for religious tolerance and a rejection of conflicts caused by religious differences. This latest work urges mankind to understand and respect the natural world and avoid the wholesale destruction of wildlife and its habitats.

While I am full of praise for Richard Blackford for his ground-breaking work, I hold conductor  Martyn Brabbins and BBC National Orchestra of Wales in awe for the magnificent performance they accorded it. Despite the new work’s enormous demands, including the need to blend in with the recorded soundscapes, the orchestral players carried on uncomplainingly like intrepid explorers making their way through the jungles of Borneo. Some of them even seemed to be enjoying the challenge.  They certainly deserved the fulsome applause at the end.

No doubt they were relieved after the interval to be on more familiar territory in The Planets Suite by Cheltenham composer Gustav Holst. However Brabbins did not relax his grip and offered a robust Mars, Jupiter and Uranus, a sprightly Mercury, a chilling Saturn and a haunting Neptune. It is worth recalling than in its day this too was a work which defied convention and was well ahead of its time. What a rare privilege it was to hear two such original and momentous works in the same concert! Cheltenham’s 70th Festival really has finished in a blaze of glory!


Roger Jones

The concert was broadcast live by the BBC and can be heard on the BBC i-player until the end of this week.   



Print Friendly


Leave a Reply

Recent Reviews


Season Previews

  • NEW! The Cleveland Orchestra’s 2018 Blossom Music Festival __________________________________
  • NEW! LA Opera’s 2018/19 Season __________________________________
  • NEW! Buxton Festival 2018 and its New CEO __________________________________
  • NEW! Classical Music at the Barbican in 2018/19 __________________________________
  • NEW! Violinist Liza Ferschtman Celebrates Bernstein’s Centenary in 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! The Piccadilly Chamber Music Series in 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! Opera and More in Buenos Aires in 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! Gloucester Choral Society’s Hubert Parry’s Centenary Celebrations in May 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! Spend a Penny for Grange Park Opera’s Lavatorium Rotundum __________________________________
  • NEW! Bampton Classical Opera in 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! The 2018 Lucerne Summer Festival __________________________________
  • NEW! Leeds Lieder’s Forthcoming Schubert Song Series in Leeds and Sheffield __________________________________
  • NEW! Contemporary Music from Manchester’s Psappha in 2017-18 __________________________________
  • UPDATED! I Musicanti’s Alexandra and the Russians at St Johns Smith Square in 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! Anna Netrebko and Yusif Eyvazov’s Return to London in May 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! St John’s Smith Square announces its 2017/18 Season __________________________________
  • NEW! The Pierre Boulez Saal’s 2017/18 Season in Berlin __________________________________
  • Subscribe to Review Summary Newsletter

    Reviews by Reviewer

    News and Featured Articles

  • NEW! A Q&A WITH ANDREA CARÈ AS HE RETURNS TO COVENT GARDEN AS DON JOSÉ __________________________________
  • NEW! Chelsea Opera Group to Perform Rossini’s Mosè in Egitto at Cadogan Hall __________________________________
  • NEW! A Celebration of the Work of Dai Fujikura at Wigmore Hall on 17 February __________________________________
  • NEW! Rafael de Acha Introduces Some of Cincinnati’s New Musical Entrepreneurs __________________________________
  • NEW! ENB’s 2018 Emerging Dancer will be Chosen at the London Coliseum on 11 June __________________________________
  • NEW! Akram Khan’s Giselle for ENB Can be Seen in Cinemas from 25 April __________________________________
  • NEW! BARRY DOUGLAS IN CONVERSATION WITH GEOFFREY NEWMAN __________________________________
  • UPDATED! SOME OF OUR REVIEWERS CHOOSE THEIR ‘BEST OF 2017’ __________________________________
  • NEW! Dénes Várjon Talks to Sebastian Smallshaw About Budapest’s __________________________________
  • R.I.P. IN MEMORIAM – DMITRI HVOROSTOVSKY (1962-2017) __________________________________
  • NEW! Ann Murray’s Masterclass at the V&A Part of Opera: Passion, Power and Politics __________________________________
  • NEW! A Composer Speaks Up for the Environment: An Interview with Margaret Brouwer __________________________________
  • Archives by Week

    Archives by Month

    Search S&H