Haitink and the Bavarians – the Lucerne Easter Festival Comes to an End


SwitzerlandSwitzerland  Mozart, Bruckner: Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Bernard Haitink (conductor), Maria João Pires (piano), Kultur- und Kongresszentrum KKL, Lucerne, 1.4.2012 (JR)
: Piano Concerto No. 20 (K466)
: Symphony No. 4 (“Romantic”)

The Lucerne Easter Festival has just ended. There were – in the space of a week – several choral concerts (a B Minor Mass, the Haydn and Mozart Requiems and a Glagolitic Mass) and three symphony concerts, Schumann’s Second Symphony with Orchestra Mozart under Abbado, Brahms’ Fourth Symphony with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under Mariss Jansons and the concert under review, Bernard Haitink in music he lives and breathes – Mozart and Bruckner

Maria João Pires and Bernard Haitink; photo credit: Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival

The soloist in the Mozart was the diminutive Portuguese pianist Maria João Pires, who ushered in her first entry in predictably stylish and sensitive fashion. The Beethoven cadenza in the first movement packed a punch (Hummel, Mendelssohn, Clara Schumann, Brahms and Busoni were also impressed with this particular concerto and wrote cadenzas for it). All eyes and ears were on Pires throughout; one was too spellbound to notice the sensitive and light-textured Haitink’s accompaniment with the Munich orchestra. Soloist and conductor were always at one, constantly watching and attuned to each other to ensure entries were absolutely in sync; a delight to see and hear.

The opening of the ‘Romanze‘ second movement was elegant and genteel, the second agitated episode allowed Pires to produce veritable fireworks on the keyboard. The final rondo was suitably dramatic but never ferocious; Beethoven stole the show yet again in a second short cadenza, before Pires brought the work to its jubilant finish.

Haitink’s Bruckner is more than dependable, it sets the current standard; he remains the world’s foremost Bruckner interpreter. So it is sad to report that the performance fell somewhat short of expectations. Haitink was his usual muscular self, clenching his left fist when more power was required, and then amply delivered by the powerful orchestra. Haitink kept an admirably steady pulse, did not pull the tempi about, and built up the tension to each shattering climax. The ending to the first movement was particularly thrilling in its majesty.

The inner movements showed Haitink’s experience, the Scherzo having plenty of hunting chorus bounce; the Finale, which some find directionless, was persuasive and the final brass peroration quite splendid. What spoilt the performance however was a series of glitches, whether they were lip faults in the brass, or jagged entries, rough edges and a general lack of shaping which displayed a lack of rehearsal time. I suspect the orchestra was simply somewhat tired after three major concerts in a row, in very different music, with two very different conductors and the final performance suffered. A shame.

John Rhodes



Comments are closed.

Recent Reviews

Season Previews

  • UPDATED ONLINE NEWS! IMPACT OF CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) PANDEMIC __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Glyndebourne Festival Opera opens for a 2020 summer season __________________________________
  • NEW! Baritone Federico Longhi’s Rigoletto is part of Parma’s June Verdian renaissance __________________________________
  • NEW! 69th Wexford Festival Opera – 11 to 18 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Dresden’s Semperoper reopens with Anna Netrebko on 19 June __________________________________
  • NEW! Berlin’s Pierre Boulez Saal in 2020-21 __________________________________
  • NEW! LMP’s first UK chamber orchestra performances since Covid-19 struck __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020 Celebration of Aldeburgh Festivals with BBC Radio 3 and BBC Four – 12-28 June __________________________________
  • NEW! Oxford Lieder Festival – 10-17 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! The Metropolitan Opera (2020–)2021 season update __________________________________
  • NEW! Royal Opera House announces first live concert since beginning of lockdown __________________________________
  • NEW! Semi-staged Das Rheingold on Deutsche Oper Berlin’s parking deck from 12 June __________________________________
  • NEW! A breath of fresh air: Opera Holland Park announces 2021 season __________________________________
  • NEW! Grange Park Opera’s 2020 Found Season – 4 June to 12 July __________________________________
  • UPDATE! 2020 BBC Proms – 17 July to 12 September __________________________________
  • UPDATED! 2020 Salzburg Festival – 1 to 30 August __________________________________
  • NEW! English Music Festival’s 2020 online series of concerts and talks __________________________________
  • The Singapore Symphony in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • Musikfest Berlin 2020 __________________________________
  • Subscribe to Free Review Summary Newsletter

    Search S&H

    News and Featured Articles

  • UPDATED ONLINE NEWS! IMPACT OF CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) PANDEMIC __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Longborough Festival Opera launches podcast and extraordinary generosity of the audience __________________________________
  • NEW! The Music Critics Association of North America Best New Opera Award to Blue __________________________________
  • NEW! Lincoln Center honors Pride with a light installation on its iconic plaza __________________________________
  • R.I.P. Dame Vera Lynn (1917-2020): Did we really need Vera Lynn during the war? __________________________________
  • NEW! What price Sherlock Holmes? __________________________________
  • NEW! BBC to show the ROH’s first post-lockdown performance and their other recent music news __________________________________
  • NEW! Woody Allen comes back fighting with a book and A Rainy Day in New York __________________________________
  • NEW! Educating Rita, says who? __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020 Three Choirs Festival – postponed __________________________________
  • NEW! Need to escape reality? Enter into the magical world of composer David Hertzberg __________________________________
  • NEW! BTHVN2020 – Beethoven anniversary goes into overtime __________________________________
  • Remembering Margaret Rutherford: murder on and off screen __________________________________
  • Archives by Week

    Archives by Month