Nicola Benedetti’s Attractive Korngold at the Proms



bbc proms logo








United KingdomUnited Kingdom Prom 34. Britten, Korngold and Prokofiev: Nicola Benedetti (violin), Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Kirill Karabits (conductor), Royal Albert Hall, London, 10.8.2015 (AS)

Prom 34_CR_Chris Christodoulou_5

Nicola Benedetti plays Korngold’s Violin Concerto
c BBC&Chris Christodoulou

Britten: Peter Grimes – Four Sea Interludes
Korngold: Violin Concerto in D, Op. 35
Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 in B flat, Op. 100


Britten’s Four Sea Interludes could be perhaps considered as another of the composer’s guides to the orchestra, apart from his Opus 34, which was written a year or so later, since the work provides a good opportunity for all sections to shine. We don’t hear the Bournemouth orchestra in London very much these days, and so it was good to experience its fine playing in this piece, with warm sounding strings, firm brass chording and stylish woodwind. Kirill Karabits directed a searching account of the four episodes that make up this satisfying concert piece. His conducting was in turn potently atmospheric and highly dramatic.

 It scarcely seems 18 years since Gil Shaham played a very fine first-ever Prom performance of the Korngold Violin Concerto, with the Bournemouth Symphony directed by the late and much-lamented Yakov Kreizberg. The orchestra has recently made a much-praised and publicised recording of the work for Decca with Nicola Benedetti and another Russian conductor, Karabits, in fact, and so now we could hear those self-same artists present the work in live performance. It’s a piece that seems to fit Benedetti’s playing personality very well. She brings out the work’s long, highly romantic melodic lines adroitly, but always in a way that never veers towards sentimentality. It’s not a concerto that should be taken too seriously, perhaps, for its film music origins are all too obvious; it’s best to lean back and just enjoy the luscious sounds. In this performance we could hear clearly how Korngold loves to feature the piquant sounds of xylophone and celesta, sometimes in tandem.

 We are used to hearing fairly blunt, straight down the line presentations of Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony, but Karabits’s approach was a little different. At once in the first movement it was evident that he was looking more inwardly into the music, searching for lyrical elements and drawing out contrasts of mood. This was an intriguing interpretative slant, but perhaps it made the movement sound a little more episodic than usual. Nor was the playing quite so assured as it had been in the Britten and Korngold, which was strange, considering how well versed this ensemble is in the music of Prokofiev through its performances and recordings for Onyx Classics, including a recent release of this very symphony (review).

 Artists vary in their response to unwanted applause between movements of a work. Benedetti had turned her back on the audience ever so slightly after the first movement of the Korngold. When applause broke out at the end of the Prokofiev’s first movement, Karabits responded by driving straight into the second amid the clapping. This meant that the first few notes of the vigorously played Allegro marcato were unclear, but his tactic ensured silence after that movement and again after the third. In that third-movement Adagio Karabits continued his expressive, softer than usual approach, to good effect in this case, and also in the final Allegro giocoso, though here the music’s structure seemed a little looser than normal and sharp orchestral attack was a little lacking. But it was an intriguing slant on the great symphony as a whole.

 Alan Sanders


Leave a Reply

Recent Reviews

Season Previews

  • UPDATED ONLINE NEWS! IMPACT OF CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) PANDEMIC __________________________________
  • NEW! BBC Proms turns 125 years old – 17 July to 12 September 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Opera North in 2020-2021 – postponements and plans __________________________________
  • NEW! Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Glyndebourne Festival Opera opens for a 2020 summer season __________________________________
  • NEW! Baritone Federico Longhi’s Rigoletto is part of Parma’s June Verdian renaissance __________________________________
  • NEW! 69th Wexford Festival Opera – 11 to 18 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Dresden’s Semperoper reopens with Anna Netrebko on 19 June __________________________________
  • NEW! Berlin’s Pierre Boulez Saal in 2020-21 __________________________________
  • NEW! LMP’s first UK chamber orchestra performances since Covid-19 struck __________________________________
  • NEW! Oxford Lieder Festival – 10-17 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! The Metropolitan Opera (2020–)2021 season update __________________________________
  • NEW! Royal Opera House announces first live concert since beginning of lockdown __________________________________
  • NEW! Semi-staged Das Rheingold on Deutsche Oper Berlin’s parking deck from 12 June __________________________________
  • NEW! A breath of fresh air: Opera Holland Park announces 2021 season __________________________________
  • NEW! Grange Park Opera’s 2020 Found Season – 4 June to 12 July __________________________________
  • UPDATED! 2020 Salzburg Festival – 1 to 30 August __________________________________
  • NEW! English Music Festival’s 2020 online series of concerts and talks __________________________________
  • The Singapore Symphony in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • Subscribe to Free Review Summary Newsletter

    Search S&H

    News and Featured Articles

  • NEW! We’ll be back! The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra weathering the Covid-19 storm __________________________________
  • NEW! World Ballet School Day – inaugural edition 7 July 2020 __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Longborough Festival Opera launches podcast and extraordinary generosity of the audience __________________________________
  • NEW! The Music Critics Association of North America Best New Opera Award to Blue __________________________________
  • NEW! Lincoln Center honors Pride with a light installation on its iconic plaza __________________________________
  • R.I.P. Dame Vera Lynn (1917-2020): Did we really need Vera Lynn during the war? __________________________________
  • NEW! What price Sherlock Holmes? __________________________________
  • NEW! BBC to show the ROH’s first post-lockdown performance and their other recent music news __________________________________
  • NEW! Woody Allen comes back fighting with a book and A Rainy Day in New York __________________________________
  • NEW! Educating Rita, says who? __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020 Three Choirs Festival – postponed __________________________________
  • NEW! Need to escape reality? Enter into the magical world of composer David Hertzberg __________________________________
  • NEW! BTHVN2020 – Beethoven anniversary goes into overtime __________________________________
  • Archives by Week

    Archives by Month