Emerson Bring Together Beethoven and the Second Viennese School


GermanyGermany Beethoven, Webern, Berg, Schoenberg: Emerson Quartet, Barbara Hannigan (soprano), Berlin Musikfest 2015, Kammermusiksaal, Berlin 10.9.2015 (MC)

Emerson String Quartet (Berliner Festspiele | Musikfest Berlin 2015)

Emerson String Quartet (c) Liza Mazzucco

Beethoven: String Quartet No.16, Op. 135 (1826)
Webern: Three Pieces for string quartet and vocalist (1913)
Berg: Lyric Suite for string quartet and vocalist (1926)
Schoenberg: String Quartet with vocalist (1907/08)

It was good to hear the Emerson Quartet again in an absorbing programme, a mix of progressive and traditional works, from Vienna based composers which could have been entitled “Beethoven meets the Second Viennese School”. The distinction of the Emerson with soprano Barbara Hannigan was enough to virtually fill the Kammermusiksaal, Berlin with its 1,100 capacity.

Opening the recital was Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 16, Op. 135, his last string quartet written just five months before his death. After the monumental four late quartets this opus 135 score is more conventional and seems easily appealing on the ear requiring less concentration from an audience. Next the first of the three works of the Second Viennese School, Webern’s Three Piecesfor string quartet and vocalist from 1913. Lasting just over two and a half minutes to perform in total, the first and last movements are the shortest with the central movement titled Langsam ‘Schmerz immer Blick nach oben’ having a vocal part sung here by soprano Barbara Hannigan. Sadly the programme booklet notes did not provide any details of the author or any of the text.

The final work in the first half of the recital was Berg’s Lyric Suite for string quartet and vocalist from 1926. In the work are references to Zemlinsky’s Lyric Symphony and Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde which are often overlooked amid the focus given to the twelve-tone method of composition. Musicologist George Perle discovered that Berg’s inspiration behind the Lyric Suitewas Hanna Fuchs-Robettin, a married woman with whom he was having an affair. Dedicated secretly to his mistress the score contains a number of coded references embedded in the writing. The final movement was revealed to be a vocal setting of a sad and desolate Baudelaire sonnet in a Stefan George translation.

After the interval a performance of Schoenberg’s String Quartet No. 2, Op. 10 requiring a vocalist, and owing to its highly progressive nature is regarded as a seminal work in music history. From 1907/08 the four movement score was composed at a time of artistic success for Schoenberg and also of emotional crisis owing to his wife’s affair with painter Ricard Gerstl. In the third (Litany) and fourth (Rapture) movements are vocal parts of text from poet Stefan George.

The last time I attended a recital by the Emerson was in 2013 at the packed Hercules Hall, Munich and the final international recital of the original line-up. It was indeed fascinating to hear the Emerson now that cellist David Finckel, such a rock solid performer, has been replaced by Paul Watkins. With such polished ensemble and immaculate intonation there was an unforced naturalness from the quartet who demonstrated a rare ability to convey a special humanity in its playing. The precision and clean articulation of the Emerson was certainly an advantage in the often steely cool, austere music of Berg, Webern and Schoenberg. Initially I missed Finckel’s sweet timbre but soon got used to Watkins’ darker toned cello. Soprano Barbara Hannigan was imperious in her singing with a spirited and remarkable stage presence displaying one of the most expressive vocals I have heard in many years.

This recital at the Kammermusiksaal, Berlin was a triumph for the Emerson and Barbara Hannigan and will live long in the memory.

Michael Cookson


Leave a Reply

Recent Reviews

Season Previews

  • NEW! BBC Proms turns 125 years old – 17 July to 12 September 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Opera North in 2020-2021 – postponements and plans __________________________________
  • NEW! Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Glyndebourne Festival Opera opens for a 2020 summer season __________________________________
  • NEW! Baritone Federico Longhi’s Rigoletto is part of Parma’s June Verdian renaissance __________________________________
  • NEW! 69th Wexford Festival Opera – 11 to 18 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Dresden’s Semperoper reopens with Anna Netrebko on 19 June __________________________________
  • NEW! Berlin’s Pierre Boulez Saal in 2020-21 __________________________________
  • NEW! LMP’s first UK chamber orchestra performances since Covid-19 struck __________________________________
  • NEW! Oxford Lieder Festival – 10-17 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! The Metropolitan Opera (2020–)2021 season update __________________________________
  • NEW! Royal Opera House announces first live concert since beginning of lockdown __________________________________
  • NEW! Semi-staged Das Rheingold on Deutsche Oper Berlin’s parking deck from 12 June __________________________________
  • NEW! A breath of fresh air: Opera Holland Park announces 2021 season __________________________________
  • NEW! Grange Park Opera’s 2020 Found Season – 4 June to 12 July __________________________________
  • UPDATED! 2020 Salzburg Festival – 1 to 30 August __________________________________
  • NEW! English Music Festival’s 2020 online series of concerts and talks __________________________________
  • The Singapore Symphony in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • Musikfest Berlin 2020 __________________________________
  • Subscribe to Free Review Summary Newsletter

    Search S&H

    News and Featured Articles

  • NEW! We’ll be back! The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra weathering the Covid-19 storm __________________________________
  • NEW! World Ballet School Day – inaugural edition 7 July 2020 __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Longborough Festival Opera launches podcast and extraordinary generosity of the audience __________________________________
  • NEW! The Music Critics Association of North America Best New Opera Award to Blue __________________________________
  • NEW! Lincoln Center honors Pride with a light installation on its iconic plaza __________________________________
  • R.I.P. Dame Vera Lynn (1917-2020): Did we really need Vera Lynn during the war? __________________________________
  • NEW! What price Sherlock Holmes? __________________________________
  • NEW! BBC to show the ROH’s first post-lockdown performance and their other recent music news __________________________________
  • NEW! Woody Allen comes back fighting with a book and A Rainy Day in New York __________________________________
  • NEW! Educating Rita, says who? __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020 Three Choirs Festival – postponed __________________________________
  • NEW! Need to escape reality? Enter into the magical world of composer David Hertzberg __________________________________
  • NEW! BTHVN2020 – Beethoven anniversary goes into overtime __________________________________
  • Archives by Week

    Archives by Month