Magnificent Bruckner Seven from Fischer and Konzerhausorchester Berlin



GermanyGermany Musikfest Berlin 2016 [1] Henze, BrucknerJulia Fischer (violin), Konzerthausorchester Berlin/Iván Fischer (conductor), Philharmonie, Berlin. 8.9.2016. (MC)


Iván Fischer (c) Marco Borggreve

Hans Werner Henze: Il Vitalino raddoppiato, Ciacona per violino concertante ed orchestra da camera           

Bruckner: Symphony No. 7

For my first concert at the Musikfest Berlin 2016 it was good to make the re acquaintance of the Konzerthausorchester, a Berlin orchestra which deserves to be much better known.

As a prelude to the main work of the evening Iván Fischer, the orchestra’s principal conductor, had chosen Hans Werner Henze Il Vitalino raddoppiato played by talented soloist Julia Fischer. Completed in 1977 this single movement concertante work is scored for solo violin with woodwind, horn and strings based on Italian baroque composer Tomas Vitali’s famous chaconne. Here Henze is in his most accessible, late-Romantic mood with predominately aching passion of an intensity that the determined Julia Fischer sustained so skillfully together with passages of an agitated, more astringent character. As I have come to expect, Adam Fischer directed the Konzerthausorchester with his usual calm assurance. For her encore Fischer chose J.S. Bach’s Sarabande in D minor from the Partita No. 2.

The main work of the evening was Bruckner’s magnificent Seventh Symphony. After the success of his Fourth Symphony no lesser figure than Artur Nikisch conducted the Seventh with the Gewandhaus at Leipzig bringing the composer the greatest success he had known in his career. Johann Strauss Jnr. telegrammed Bruckner stating that it was “the musical experience of his life.”

With everything coming together so seamlessly this was one of the finest performances of the Seventh that I am likely to experience in the concert hall. Striking throughout was how Fischer shaped an interpretation of passion and expression over pin-point accuracy without compromising orchestral unity. Under Fischer’s baton everything felt natural and unforced including the long radiant phrases and the so important pauses. Noticeable too was Fischer’s instinctive feel for dynamics never pushing too hard. I especially enjoyed the Adagio where passages of penetrating drama fall away to writing of intense yet tender romance. Rich and cavernous the 8 double basses underpinned the orchestral sound and those Wagner tubas were spectacular.

Michael Cookson


Leave a Reply

Recent Reviews

Season Previews

  • NEW! BBC Proms turns 125 years old – 17 July to 12 September 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Opera North in 2020-2021 – postponements and plans __________________________________
  • NEW! Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Glyndebourne Festival Opera opens for a 2020 summer season __________________________________
  • NEW! Baritone Federico Longhi’s Rigoletto is part of Parma’s June Verdian renaissance __________________________________
  • NEW! 69th Wexford Festival Opera – 11 to 18 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Dresden’s Semperoper reopens with Anna Netrebko on 19 June __________________________________
  • NEW! Berlin’s Pierre Boulez Saal in 2020-21 __________________________________
  • NEW! LMP’s first UK chamber orchestra performances since Covid-19 struck __________________________________
  • NEW! Oxford Lieder Festival – 10-17 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! The Metropolitan Opera (2020–)2021 season update __________________________________
  • NEW! Royal Opera House announces first live concert since beginning of lockdown __________________________________
  • NEW! Semi-staged Das Rheingold on Deutsche Oper Berlin’s parking deck from 12 June __________________________________
  • NEW! A breath of fresh air: Opera Holland Park announces 2021 season __________________________________
  • NEW! Grange Park Opera’s 2020 Found Season – 4 June to 12 July __________________________________
  • UPDATED! 2020 Salzburg Festival – 1 to 30 August __________________________________
  • NEW! English Music Festival’s 2020 online series of concerts and talks __________________________________
  • The Singapore Symphony in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • Musikfest Berlin 2020 __________________________________
  • Subscribe to Free Review Summary Newsletter

    Search S&H

    News and Featured Articles

  • NEW! We’ll be back! The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra weathering the Covid-19 storm __________________________________
  • NEW! World Ballet School Day – inaugural edition 7 July 2020 __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Longborough Festival Opera launches podcast and extraordinary generosity of the audience __________________________________
  • NEW! The Music Critics Association of North America Best New Opera Award to Blue __________________________________
  • NEW! Lincoln Center honors Pride with a light installation on its iconic plaza __________________________________
  • R.I.P. Dame Vera Lynn (1917-2020): Did we really need Vera Lynn during the war? __________________________________
  • NEW! What price Sherlock Holmes? __________________________________
  • NEW! BBC to show the ROH’s first post-lockdown performance and their other recent music news __________________________________
  • NEW! Woody Allen comes back fighting with a book and A Rainy Day in New York __________________________________
  • NEW! Educating Rita, says who? __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020 Three Choirs Festival – postponed __________________________________
  • NEW! Need to escape reality? Enter into the magical world of composer David Hertzberg __________________________________
  • NEW! BTHVN2020 – Beethoven anniversary goes into overtime __________________________________
  • Archives by Week

    Archives by Month