Soloists, Karabits and BSO Ring All The Bells


United KingdomUnited Kingdom Brahms, Beethoven, Rachmaninov: David Fray (piano), Olga Mykytenko (soprano), Artjom Korotkov (tenor), Nikolay Didenko (bass), Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra / Kirill Karabits (conductor). Lighthouse, Poole, 15.11.2017. (IL)

Brahms – Tragic Overture

Beethoven – Piano Concerto No.3 in C minor

Rachmaninov –  The Bells, Choral Symphony

For this concert, Kirill Karabits arranged the Bournemouth SO violins to left and right of the podium. The result, of course, was a gorgeous spread of upper string sound, so well suited to Brahms’s Tragic Overture given with all the dramatic intensity and romantic lyricism one might wish for.

The main work was Rachmaninov’s The Bells. The greatly enlarged orchestra was joined by the Bournemouth Symphony Chorus and soloists: soprano, tenor and bass. The work is based on a free Russian translation of Edgar Allan Poe’s writings. The opening movement evokes the joyfulness of winter sleighs. Their bells jingle but the music also rings a doleful warning that happiness is transient. The earnest tones of tenor, Artjom Korotkov, added an appropriate note of gravitas; the choir, although happy enough, suddenly inject a chill note. The second movement, Golden Wedding Bells, is lyrical but solemn and slow. The music casts shadows as if we are being reminded of the responsibility of marriage as well as its bliss. Soprano Olga Mykytenko was tender but persuasive, her voice projecting strongly. The third movement, Loud Alarm Bells, has no soloist contribution. The concern is war and its horrors. Karabits shaped the movement’s complexities and drama exceedingly well. His choir and orchestra shrieked danger and dread with formidable urgency and attack. Finally, Mournful Iron Bells usher in sombre music, with Nikolay Didenko’s oaken-voiced bass mourning above the grieving choir: ‘Hear the funeral knell’. Yet there was a note of hope and defiance too. The movement, and the work, ended on a moving note of consolation. This ending, under Karabits, was absolutely glorious. A magnificent performance.

The major work in the first half of the concert was Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto, emotionally stirring and dramatic. David Fray’s reading was confidently accomplished, finely expressive and polished, from his arresting entry in the opening movement, through the rapt beauty of Beethoven’s Largo central movement to the unbridled joy and merriment of the Rondo Finale.

A splendid concert and BBC Radio 3 listeners will have the opportunity to hear this concert on Friday 17th November.

Ian Lace


Leave a Reply

Recent Reviews

Season Previews

  • NEW! English Music Festival’s 2020 online series of concerts and talks __________________________________
  • NEW! Glyndebourne 2020 cancelled and looking to the future __________________________________
  • NEW! Opera Philadelphia announces Digital Festival O __________________________________
  • NEW! The Singapore Symphony in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • NEW! Musikfest Berlin 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Berlin’s Staatsoper Unter den Linden 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020-2021 at Dresden’s Semperoper __________________________________
  • NEW! Zurich Opera in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • NEW! London’s Southbank Centre in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • NEW! The Met: Live in HD in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020-2021 at London’s Barbican __________________________________
  • NEW! Birmingham Royal Ballet in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • NEW! Carnegie Hall’s 2020-2021 season __________________________________
  • NEW! London’s Wigmore Hall in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • NEW! Tamara Rojo’s new Raymonda and ENB in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • Subscribe to Free Review Summary Newsletter

    Search S&H

    News and Featured Articles

  • NEW! Educating Rita, says who? __________________________________
  • UPDATED! 2020 Salzburg Festival – 1 to 30 August __________________________________
  • NEW! Did we really need Vera Lynn during the war – and when will we all meet again? __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020 Three Choirs Festival – postponed __________________________________
  • UPDATED ONLINE NEWS! IMPACT OF CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) PANDEMIC __________________________________
  • NEW! Need to escape reality? Enter into the magical world of composer David Hertzberg __________________________________
  • NEW! BTHVN2020 – Beethoven anniversary goes into overtime __________________________________
  • SOME GOOD NEWS! Extraordinary generosity of the Longborough Festival Opera audience __________________________________
  • Remembering Margaret Rutherford: murder on and off screen __________________________________
  • Remembering George London’s life and legacy on the 100th anniversary of his birth __________________________________
  • A Q&A WITH SARDINIAN TENOR PIERO PRETTI __________________________________
  • Archives by Week

    Archives by Month