Ballet Icons Gala 2020 at the London Coliseum on 26 January


a superb evening of world class ballet celebrating the Russian Ballet School


Sunday January 26th 2020 at the LONDON COLISEUM at 7pm
Tickets: £25-£175   Box office: 020 7845 9300   London Coliseum ticket link click here

BALLET ICONS GALA is an annual highlight in the ballet calendar and an absolute must for ballet fans; the programme will feature classical masterpieces as well as contemporary works created by today’s leading choreographers.  Music will be performed by English National Ballet Philharmonic under the direction of Russian conductor, Valery Ovsyanikov, a regular Royal Ballet collaborator and who has conducted every Gala since the beginning.

The annual Ballet Icons Gala in London has been organised by Ensemble Productions since 2006. The Gala’s programmes pay tribute to the traditions of the legendary Russian and other prominent ballet schools as well as its legendary dancers who have been inspiring the ballet world and ballet lovers for centuries.

Says Olga Balakleets, CEO of Ensemble Productions: ‘We are absolutely delighted to announce our 2020 BALLET ICONS GALA which I know is going to be a wonderful evening for Coliseum ballet fans – from all over the world! Our 2020 programme will feature a superb cast of world class dancers from many of the world’s top companies in a celebration of the Russian and other significant ballet schools and many of the legendary dancers and choreographers who have entertained audiences and inspired subsequent generations.’

Ballet stars who have been confirmed to perform include:

Natalia Osipova (Royal Ballet) and Jason Kittelberger (Stuttgart Ballet)
Xander Parish (Mariinsky) and Olesya Novikova (Mariinsky)
Yasmine Naghdi (Royal Ballet) and Marcelino Sambé (Royal Ballet)
Maria Alexandrova (Bolshoi) and Vladislav Lantratov (Bolshoi)
Ekaterina Krysanova (Bolshoi) and Artem Ovcharenko (Bolshoi, Hamburg Ballet)
Maia Makhateli (Dutch National Ballet) and James Stout (Dutch National Ballet)
Vittoria Valerio (La Scala) and Claudio Coviello (La Scala)
Ludmila Pagliero (Paris Opera Ballet) and Mathias Heyman (Paris Opera Ballet)
Lucía Lacarra (Bavarian State Opera Ballet) and Matthew Golding (formerly Royal Ballet)
Yana Salenko (Berlin State Ballet) and Daniil Simkin (American Ballet Theatre)
Nicoletta Mani (La Scala) and Julian MacKay (Mikhaylovsky Theatre)
Sergio Bernal (Ballet Nacional de España) and Miriam Mendoza (Ballet Nacional de España)
Giuseppe Picone (Teatro di San Carlo) and Luisa Ieluzzi (Teatro di San Carlo)
Katja Khaniukova (English National Ballet) and Joseph Caley (English National Ballet)
Ekaterina Kondaurova (Mariinsky) and Timur Askerov (Mariinsky)

Organisers reserve the right to make alterations to the casting where unavoidable.


For more information on how to book tickets click here.


Leave a Reply

Recent Reviews

Season Previews

  • NEW! BBC Proms turns 125 years old – 17 July to 12 September 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Opera North in 2020-2021 – postponements and plans __________________________________
  • NEW! Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Glyndebourne Festival Opera opens for a 2020 summer season __________________________________
  • NEW! Baritone Federico Longhi’s Rigoletto is part of Parma’s June Verdian renaissance __________________________________
  • NEW! 69th Wexford Festival Opera – 11 to 18 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Dresden’s Semperoper reopens with Anna Netrebko on 19 June __________________________________
  • NEW! Berlin’s Pierre Boulez Saal in 2020-21 __________________________________
  • NEW! LMP’s first UK chamber orchestra performances since Covid-19 struck __________________________________
  • NEW! Oxford Lieder Festival – 10-17 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! The Metropolitan Opera (2020–)2021 season update __________________________________
  • NEW! Royal Opera House announces first live concert since beginning of lockdown __________________________________
  • NEW! Semi-staged Das Rheingold on Deutsche Oper Berlin’s parking deck from 12 June __________________________________
  • NEW! A breath of fresh air: Opera Holland Park announces 2021 season __________________________________
  • NEW! Grange Park Opera’s 2020 Found Season – 4 June to 12 July __________________________________
  • UPDATED! 2020 Salzburg Festival – 1 to 30 August __________________________________
  • NEW! English Music Festival’s 2020 online series of concerts and talks __________________________________
  • The Singapore Symphony in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • Musikfest Berlin 2020 __________________________________
  • Subscribe to Free Review Summary Newsletter

    Search S&H

    News and Featured Articles

  • NEW! We’ll be back! The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra weathering the Covid-19 storm __________________________________
  • NEW! World Ballet School Day – inaugural edition 7 July 2020 __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Longborough Festival Opera launches podcast and extraordinary generosity of the audience __________________________________
  • NEW! The Music Critics Association of North America Best New Opera Award to Blue __________________________________
  • NEW! Lincoln Center honors Pride with a light installation on its iconic plaza __________________________________
  • R.I.P. Dame Vera Lynn (1917-2020): Did we really need Vera Lynn during the war? __________________________________
  • NEW! What price Sherlock Holmes? __________________________________
  • NEW! BBC to show the ROH’s first post-lockdown performance and their other recent music news __________________________________
  • NEW! Woody Allen comes back fighting with a book and A Rainy Day in New York __________________________________
  • NEW! Educating Rita, says who? __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020 Three Choirs Festival – postponed __________________________________
  • NEW! Need to escape reality? Enter into the magical world of composer David Hertzberg __________________________________
  • NEW! BTHVN2020 – Beethoven anniversary goes into overtime __________________________________
  • Archives by Week

    Archives by Month