BBC Symphony Orchestra Impress on Tour of Switzerland


SwitzerlandSwitzerland Clyne, Britten, Beethoven: Vilde Frang (violin), BBC Symphony Orchestra / Sakari Oramo (conductor), Tonhalle Maag, Zurich, 24.3.2018. (JR)

Vilde Frang 2014 for Warner Photo: Marco Borggreve

Vilde Frang (c) Marco Borggreve

ClyneThis Midnight Hour

Britten – Violin Concerto op.15

Beethoven – Symphony No.6 op.68

The BBCSO is on a short tour of Switzerland, Zurich and Geneva to be more precise. It is part of the admirable Migros Kulturprozent-Classics programme of visiting orchestras. The programme booklet informed the predominantly Swiss audience that the BBCSO is the flagship of the five UK orchestras funded by the BBC, going on to list its illustrious former Chief Conductors.

Its current Chief Conductor, Sakari Oramo, brought two English works to Switzerland, a piece written only a few years ago, This Midnight Hour, by young British composer Anna Clyne, getting its Swiss première; and Britten’s challenging Violin Concerto, about which more anon.

This concert was performed a few evenings ago in Birmingham and readers may have heard it live on BBC Radio 3.

Clyne, now living in America, based her 15-minute piece on two poems, one by Baudelaire, the other by Juan Ramon Jiménez. The latter depicts a naked woman running through the night, whilst Baudelaire’s poem evokes the atmosphere of a more tranquil, melancholic night. The energetic opening of the work brought to mind Siegmund running through the forest being chased by Hunding in Die Walküre; it certainly caught the audience’s attention from the outset. This was highly approachable contemporary music, tending unashamedly towards film music in style. My neighbour said it was the best modern music she had heard for a long while. Two lone (muted) trumpeters stood left and right to add a touch of spectacle, giving their solo contributions more prominence. After a quieter section, the piece climaxes before ending with one single very loud thud from the timpani, perhaps as though waking up suddenly or falling out of bed. The piece was extremely well received.

Britten composed his Violin Concerto just before World War II broke out, and it received its first performance in 1940 (by the New York Philharmonic under Sir John Barbirolli). The piece is suitably sombre, but not without some typical Britten jauntiness and some achingly beautiful passages. Young Norwegian Vilde Frang was the superb soloist; her angelic facial expressions, particularly in the opening movement, added to the celestial aura of this piece. Frang’s technical prowess came to the fore when leaping to the top of the E string and in her double-stopping, but she stunned throughout. The militaristic Shostakovich-imbued second movement (Vivace) contains the lengthy cadenza, and Frang held the audience in the palm of her hand, they were transfixed. Oramo had the measure of the piece, as did the orchestra, but all eyes and ears were on the soloist. The Finale brought Nielsen to mind, before becoming contemplative and ethereal. At the end I swear the whole audience had stopped breathing, it was such a moving experience. Oramo held his hand high at the end for a minute or two, to prevent premature applause, and had no trouble succeeding.

After the Britten, Beethoven’s ‘Pastoral’ was something of an anti-climax but soon cheered us up. This familiar territory needs no introduction, of course. This was the chance for the orchestra to show off his talents, which they duly did with aplomb. The first movement was appropriately joyful, Oramo had a smile on his face throughout. I was taken by the chirpy clarinet, joined in the second movement by the mellifluous flute. Oramo’s sweeping gestures aided the music’s flow, whilst in the storm scene he whipped up quite a frenzy. I had not heard the BBCSO for a while and was impressed with their sound (possibly on occasion rather too loud for the small, temporary concert hall), they were clearly very well-rehearsed, and they certainly compared well with Zurich’s own Tonhalle Orchestra.

Oramo could not resist some of his native music for the encore, which he announced, the delightful Entr’acte from Sibelius’ Pelléas and Mélisande.

 This was the BBCSO’s third visit to Switzerland in recent times and we very much look forward to future visits.

John Rhodes


Leave a Reply

Recent Reviews

Season Previews

  • NEW! Opera North in 2020-2021 – postponements and plans __________________________________
  • NEW! Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • UPDATED ONLINE NEWS! IMPACT OF CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) PANDEMIC __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Glyndebourne Festival Opera opens for a 2020 summer season __________________________________
  • NEW! Baritone Federico Longhi’s Rigoletto is part of Parma’s June Verdian renaissance __________________________________
  • NEW! 69th Wexford Festival Opera – 11 to 18 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Dresden’s Semperoper reopens with Anna Netrebko on 19 June __________________________________
  • NEW! Berlin’s Pierre Boulez Saal in 2020-21 __________________________________
  • NEW! LMP’s first UK chamber orchestra performances since Covid-19 struck __________________________________
  • NEW! Oxford Lieder Festival – 10-17 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! The Metropolitan Opera (2020–)2021 season update __________________________________
  • NEW! Royal Opera House announces first live concert since beginning of lockdown __________________________________
  • NEW! Semi-staged Das Rheingold on Deutsche Oper Berlin’s parking deck from 12 June __________________________________
  • NEW! A breath of fresh air: Opera Holland Park announces 2021 season __________________________________
  • NEW! Grange Park Opera’s 2020 Found Season – 4 June to 12 July __________________________________
  • UPDATED! 2020 Salzburg Festival – 1 to 30 August __________________________________
  • NEW! English Music Festival’s 2020 online series of concerts and talks __________________________________
  • The Singapore Symphony in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • Musikfest Berlin 2020 __________________________________
  • Subscribe to Free Review Summary Newsletter

    Search S&H

    News and Featured Articles

  • UPDATED ONLINE NEWS! IMPACT OF CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) PANDEMIC __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Longborough Festival Opera launches podcast and extraordinary generosity of the audience __________________________________
  • NEW! The Music Critics Association of North America Best New Opera Award to Blue __________________________________
  • NEW! Lincoln Center honors Pride with a light installation on its iconic plaza __________________________________
  • R.I.P. Dame Vera Lynn (1917-2020): Did we really need Vera Lynn during the war? __________________________________
  • NEW! What price Sherlock Holmes? __________________________________
  • NEW! BBC to show the ROH’s first post-lockdown performance and their other recent music news __________________________________
  • NEW! Woody Allen comes back fighting with a book and A Rainy Day in New York __________________________________
  • NEW! Educating Rita, says who? __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020 Three Choirs Festival – postponed __________________________________
  • NEW! Need to escape reality? Enter into the magical world of composer David Hertzberg __________________________________
  • NEW! BTHVN2020 – Beethoven anniversary goes into overtime __________________________________
  • Remembering Margaret Rutherford: murder on and off screen __________________________________
  • Archives by Week

    Archives by Month