Thielemann and the Dresdners – Commendable Old-School Qualities


SwitzerlandSwitzerland Weber, Liszt, Brahms: Denis Matsuev (piano), Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden / Christian Thielemann (conductor), Kultur- und Kongresszentrum Lucerne, 31.5.2018. (JR)

Christian Thielemann (c) Matthias Creutziger

Weber – Oberon Overture

Liszt – Piano Concerto No.2

Brahms – Symphony No.4

This was old-school playing and conducting of the finest order; established conservatism at its best. The concert format was traditional, an overture, a concerto, a symphony (for review in Dresden click here). Nothing remotely modern in terms of music or attire. A conductor wearing tails, holding in the palm of his hand – very deftly – a long baton.  Orchestra members with very shiny shoes. It was as though time had stood still.

Thielemann talks fondly of Furtwängler and Karajan (his former mentor) and it is very clear that both have influenced his interpretations, style and even demeanour on stage. Whilst he smiles occasionally, it is clear he is very much in command, and his orchestra members obey. What results is music-making of the highest quality, even if the occasional interpretative aspect or practice may not now be considered up-to-date.

We started off with Weber’s overture to his opera Oberon, an absolute joy from its first note to the last – the fairies were dancing. I had a smile on my face throughout. The orchestra members enjoyed it visibly too. The woodwind were witty, and needless to say accomplished, there was delicacy and, when required, thrust. You could hear the forerunner of Wagner and Brahms at work, and this was clearly music tailormade for Thielemann. Weber, incidentally, was at the helm of the Dresden Opera from 1817. Oberon however was written for initial performance in London, where he died after a strenuous string of rehearsals.

Liszt’s piano concertos are not concertos as we normally know them. His second is in the style of a symphonic poem, one long movement with six sections interspersed with very short piano interludes. His second concerto is less showy than his first and slightly less popular. Denis Matsuev, a great bear of a man, can be a barnstormer but also showed that he can play with great delicacy, even though he then looks as though he in pain. Thielemann whipped up the orchestra into a brass frenzy at appropriate moments, the solo cello passages were sublime, but I was left with a feeling that the work had failed to satisfy or convince. I think that is a fault of the work, of the composer (his writing for piano far surpassing that for orchestra), and not in any way the performers.

Thielemann expertly crafted the Brahms symphony from the opening bars. The first movement was simply phenomenal; the superb acoustics of the KKL certainly helped. The sound was full and mellow, the violinists employing a great deal of vibrato, the whole horn section never putting a foot wrong. (Brahms was a horn player, although he also played the double bass, which might explain his favour of passages for horn.)

The second movement brought respite from the energy of the first; the third movement was suitably joyous, meticulous and fleet of foot. I especially liked the timpanist using hard sticks. The final movement gave some principals a chance to shine, highlighting the commendable clarinet, oboe, flute and trombones.

This was a performance that brought to mind Karajan’s performances of yesteryear; polished, taut, faultless. The interpretation also brought Furtwängler to mind due to the frequent use of rubato, which occasionally, especially in the central section of the final movement, stemmed the flow of the music. ‘Have his batteries run out?’ I scribbled in my programme at one stage.

We were then served a generous overture: Weber’s melodious overture to Euryanthe, which once again confirmed Thielemann’s credentials in this composer’s music. Thielemann already has the air of someone who is going to be in charge of the venerable orchestra for a very long time to come. For the quality of its music-making alone, this concert is sure to be a highlight of my musical year.

John Rhodes


Leave a Reply

Recent Reviews

Season Previews

  • NEW! Opera North in 2020-2021 – postponements and plans __________________________________
  • NEW! Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • UPDATED ONLINE NEWS! IMPACT OF CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) PANDEMIC __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Glyndebourne Festival Opera opens for a 2020 summer season __________________________________
  • NEW! Baritone Federico Longhi’s Rigoletto is part of Parma’s June Verdian renaissance __________________________________
  • NEW! 69th Wexford Festival Opera – 11 to 18 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! Dresden’s Semperoper reopens with Anna Netrebko on 19 June __________________________________
  • NEW! Berlin’s Pierre Boulez Saal in 2020-21 __________________________________
  • NEW! LMP’s first UK chamber orchestra performances since Covid-19 struck __________________________________
  • NEW! Oxford Lieder Festival – 10-17 October 2020 __________________________________
  • NEW! The Metropolitan Opera (2020–)2021 season update __________________________________
  • NEW! Royal Opera House announces first live concert since beginning of lockdown __________________________________
  • NEW! Semi-staged Das Rheingold on Deutsche Oper Berlin’s parking deck from 12 June __________________________________
  • NEW! A breath of fresh air: Opera Holland Park announces 2021 season __________________________________
  • NEW! Grange Park Opera’s 2020 Found Season – 4 June to 12 July __________________________________
  • UPDATED! 2020 Salzburg Festival – 1 to 30 August __________________________________
  • NEW! English Music Festival’s 2020 online series of concerts and talks __________________________________
  • The Singapore Symphony in 2020-2021 __________________________________
  • Musikfest Berlin 2020 __________________________________
  • Subscribe to Free Review Summary Newsletter

    Search S&H

    News and Featured Articles

  • UPDATED ONLINE NEWS! IMPACT OF CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) PANDEMIC __________________________________
  • UPDATED! Longborough Festival Opera launches podcast and extraordinary generosity of the audience __________________________________
  • NEW! The Music Critics Association of North America Best New Opera Award to Blue __________________________________
  • NEW! Lincoln Center honors Pride with a light installation on its iconic plaza __________________________________
  • R.I.P. Dame Vera Lynn (1917-2020): Did we really need Vera Lynn during the war? __________________________________
  • NEW! What price Sherlock Holmes? __________________________________
  • NEW! BBC to show the ROH’s first post-lockdown performance and their other recent music news __________________________________
  • NEW! Woody Allen comes back fighting with a book and A Rainy Day in New York __________________________________
  • NEW! Educating Rita, says who? __________________________________
  • NEW! 2020 Three Choirs Festival – postponed __________________________________
  • NEW! Need to escape reality? Enter into the magical world of composer David Hertzberg __________________________________
  • NEW! BTHVN2020 – Beethoven anniversary goes into overtime __________________________________
  • Remembering Margaret Rutherford: murder on and off screen __________________________________
  • Archives by Week

    Archives by Month