Insightful and Collaborative: Rollercoaster of Emotions with Belcea Quartet and Anderszewski

United KingdomUnited Kingdom Haydn, Janáček, Shostakovich: Belcea Quartet (Corina Belcea, Axel Schacher [violins], Krzystof Chorzelski [viola] and Antoine Lederlin [cello]), Piotr Anderszewski (piano), Queen Elizabeth Hall, London, 30.4.2019. (CSa)

Belcea Quartet (c) Marco Borggreve

Read more

Sellars and Rattle Retell Bach’s St John with Power and Passion

United KingdomUnited Kingdom J.S. Bach, St John’s Passion: Choir (Simon Halsey, chorus master) and Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment / Sir Simon Rattle (conductor). Royal Festival Hall, London, 2.4.2019. (CSa)

Christine Rice, George Nigl, Roderick Williams & Mark Padmore
in QAE’s St John Passion (c) Tristram Kenton

Read more

John Butt and the BBCSO Struggle to Reach Bach’s Musical Summit

United KingdomUnited Kingdom JS Bach, Mass in B minor: Joanne Lunn (soprano), Mary Bevan (soprano), Alex Potter (countertenor), Samuel Boden (tenor), Edward Grint (bass-baritone), BBC Symphony Chorus, (director: Neil Ferris), BBC Symphony Orchestra / John Butt (conductor), Barbican Hall, London, 2.2.2019. (CSa)

Read more