The Latest Instalment in Sakari Oramo’s Sibelius Cycle with the BBCSO


Sibelius and Hillborg: Lisa Batiashvili (violin), BBC Symphony Orchestra / Sakari Oramo (conductor). Barbican, London, 29.11.2017. (Y-JH)

Sibelius – Symphony No.6; Symphony No.4

Hillborg – Violin Concerto No.2 (UK Premiere)

Elusive is hardly a flattering way to describe Sibelius’ Fourth and Sixth symphonies, works performed tonight as part of Sakari Oramo’s ongoing Sibelius cycle with the BBC Symphony Orchestra. Certainly, the two symphonies do without the bold, soaring melodies characteristic of the Finnish composer’s orchestral works, yet they convey depths of shades that go beyond the immediately impressionable.

Oramo was reluctant for eccentric maneuvers in approaching the Sixth symphony, a gentle work where more is implied than shown. When Vänskä had tackled this symphony with the LPO last year, the conductor’s own personality was palpably felt in the athletic manner the piece was exercised. In contrast, Oramo’s reading favoured a respect towards the score, with lyricism made explicit in the firm vibrato-driven strings. Laxness in concentration was hardly allowed as each movement added new layers of momentum. By means of sheer alertness of playing and orchestral balance, the scintillating pulse underlying the outward chaste was outlined. When the calm of the incipience of the work was recalled at the coda of the Allegro molto, one understood that the composer’s remark of the work as a reminder of ‘the scent of the first snow’ has less to do with the snow than a sense of warmth of the fragile things that (will) pass. Overall it was a performance where everything fit together. It will remain, among both recordings and live performances, one of the most convincing accounts of its kind.

If the stoic textures of Sibelius’ Fourth and Sixth symphonies go against virtues of an echt-symphonic drama, this is hardly accidental; the composer considered both as protests against the musical direction of his time. Yet a certain bleakness breathes in the Fourth that the Sixth doesn’t attempt. In Oramo’s reading, thus was the fortissimo of the lower strings in the beginning played with physicality, and the Il tempo largo, taken with extra breadth and with heavy doses of silence had a mark of austerity. Still, the presence of songful vibrato in the strings, especially in the various chamber-music-like solo sequences, did not allow thing to delve into the desolate extremes. Such hope, as it were, was nowhere more pronounced upon entering the Allegro. As if blind to the preceding grit and ignorant of the ambiguity of the imminent coda, the movement burst into life, brightly galloping through the sparse winds outbursts and naively playful glockenspiel. Immaculately played no doubt, whether or not such pressed enthusiasm in the finale disrupts the flow towards the eventual quietude if not resignation of the symphony’s conclusion, is a matter of viewpoint.

Anders Hillborg’s Second Violin Concerto, presented between the two symphonies, was a fresh reminder that tunefulness still has its place among contemporary compositions. Sections of glissando separated blocks of stillness, virtuosity, Middle Eastern exoticism and birdsongs. An entertaining and immersive showpiece – reflecting its success in concert halls – although the returning slow section was, in its repetitively languorous procession, not without sedate qualities. Lisa Batiashivilli, to whom the work was dedicated, gave a characteristically convincing performance.

Young-Jin Hur

Print Friendly


Leave a Reply

Recent Reviews


Season Previews

  • NEW! Opera and More in Buenos Aires in 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! Gloucester Choral Society’s Hubert Parry’s Centenary Celebrations in May 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! Ex Cathedra at St John’s Smith Square’s 2017 Christmas Festival __________________________________
  • NEW! Spend a Penny for Grange Park Opera’s Lavatorium Rotundum __________________________________
  • NEW! Bampton Classical Opera in 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! The 2018 Lucerne Summer Festival __________________________________
  • NEW! World Premiere of The Nutcracker and I, by Alexandra Dariescu in December at Milton Court __________________________________
  • NEW! Leeds Lieder’s Forthcoming Schubert Song Series in Leeds and Sheffield __________________________________
  • UPDATED! English National Ballet’s 2017 – 2018 Season __________________________________
  • NEW! Contemporary Music from Manchester’s Psappha in 2017-18 __________________________________
  • NEW! I Musicanti’s ‘Alexandra and the Russians’ at St Johns Smith Square, 2017-18 __________________________________
  • NEW! Anna Netrebko and Yusif Eyvazov’s Return to London in May 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! St John’s Smith Square announces its 2017/18 Season __________________________________
  • NEW! The Pierre Boulez Saal’s 2017/18 Season in Berlin __________________________________
  • UPDATED! The Glyndebourne Opera Cup and Glyndebourne in 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra’s 2017/18 Season __________________________________
  • UPDATED! English National Opera’s 2017/18 Season __________________________________
  • Subscribe to Review Summary Newsletter

    Reviews by Reviewer

    News and Featured Articles

  • NEW! Dénes Várjon Talks to Sebastian Smallshaw About Budapest’s __________________________________
  • R.I.P. IN MEMORIAM – DMITRI HVOROSTOVSKY (1962-2017) __________________________________
  • NEW! Ann Murray’s Masterclass at the V&A Part of Opera: Passion, Power and Politics __________________________________
  • NEW! Carly Paoli is ‘Singing My Dreams’ at the Cadogan Hall in February 2018 __________________________________
  • NEW! A Composer Speaks Up for the Environment: An Interview with Margaret Brouwer __________________________________
  • NEW! Twelve Years of Celebrating Malcolm Arnold in Northampton __________________________________
  • NEW! What is the Critic’s Job? A Review of A. O. Scott’s Recent Book __________________________________
  • NEW! English Music Festival in Yorkshire Lifts the Lid Off an English Treasury __________________________________
  • NEW! A FULLY STAGED PILGRIM’S PROGRESS IN ORLEANS, MA __________________________________
  • NEW! JIŘÍ BĔLOHLÁVEK (1946-2017) AND THE CZECH CONDUCTING LEGACY __________________________________
  • NEW! JUSTIN DOYLE DISCUSSES MONTEVERDI WITH MARK BERRY __________________________________
  • NEW! Katie Lowe Wins the 2017 Elizabeth Connell Prize __________________________________
  • NEW! ITINÉRAIRE BAROQUE 2017: TON KOOPMAN TALKS TO COLIN CLARKE __________________________________
  • NEW! The Royal Opera House in Mumbai is Restored to its Former Glory __________________________________
  • Archives by Week

    Archives by Month

    Search S&H